About Us

Our Parish Council is the first tier of local government in Stansted. The next tier is Uttlesford District Council whose responsibilities include refuse collection, planning and building control, public health and collection of Council Tax. The top tier is Essex County Council whose responsibilities include Education, Highways and Social Services.

With more than 4,000 acres Stansted Mountfitchet, or Stansted as it is more commonly known, is one of the largest parishes in Essex.

For electoral purposes Stansted is divided into two wards North and South. The former comprises the Bentfield, Cambridge Road, Hargrave, High Lane, Lower Street and St John’s Road areas. It returns six Parish Councillors. Whilst Stansted South comprises Blythwood Gardens, Church Road, the Mountfitchet Estate and Silver Street areas. It returns nine Parish Councillors. The 15 councillors come from all walks of life.

Stansted is one of the few communities in Uttlesford where there are regular contested elections for the Parish Council. Apart from Saffron Walden it is also the only one where all the councillors are elected under a political party label.

Councillors are usually elected for a four year term and the next elections are due in May 2023.