The Council’s work is carried out largely through official council meetings.

All council meetings are held on Wednesday evenings at 7:30pm in our offices at Mountfitchet Exchange.


All meetings are open to the press and public.

You can also attend meetings virtually by obtaining the Zoom link (with passcode) from the agenda document of the meeting you would like to follow. See the Agendas tab.

Requests should be sent to

Public participation is possible at the start of a Full Council meeting for a maximum of 5 minutes per person and 15 minutes in total per meeting.


The Council is a statutory consultee on planning applications but not the decision maker.

Planning Applications are dealt with at Full Council meetings.


For the Civic Year 2022-23 our Chairman is Maureen Caton and her Vice-Chairman is Fran Richards

The Council has a number of committees to assist it in its work. The Finance and General Purposes Committee – Chairman John O’Brien- is responsible for all financial matters and preparation of the budget. It also looks after lighting issues. The majority of street lights in the village are owned by the Parish Council.

The Open Spaces Committee – Chairman Alan Barnes – is responsible for our play areas, the cemetery, footpaths, gardening and grass cutting.

There is also a Highways sub-committee which is working in association with Essex County Council on issues such as parking.

The Windmill sub-committee – Chairman John O’Brien – looks after the fabric of the mill along with a voluntary group known as The Millers

Our most recent Standing Orders were adopted in May 2022.